How each presidential candidate voted in the annulment of the 2020 election results

With nine candidates running for president, some Republicans are raising questions about whether their 2020 override votes should be a factor in choosing the next leader.

The House of Representatives has been in turmoil since eight Republicans joined forces with Democrats earlier this month to oust former Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.). Since then, the House GOP has struggled to unify behind a single candidate for speaker.

The GOP conference voted in a secret ballot election Friday to install Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio) as the GOP nominee after he failed three times to secure the necessary 217 votes for the presidency. Jordan was the second Republican nomination, following Majority Leader Steve Scalise’s (R-La.) decision to withdraw a day after the conference narrowly voted to nominate him.

Some Republicans, like Rep. Ken Buck (R-Colo.), say the candidates’ positions on who will win the 2020 election will factor into their votes. Buck, one of eight Republicans who voted to oust McCarthy, told reporters on Friday that declaring President Biden the legitimate winner of the 2020 election would be one of his criteria in choosing a new candidate.

McCarthy, Jordan and Scalise were among the Republicans who voted to overturn those election results.

Former Congressman Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) said on CNN’s “State of the Union” Sunday that any candidate who voted to reject the results of the 2020 election should be disqualified from running for president .

Hours after a mob of rioters stormed the Capitol on January 6, 2021, 139 House Republicans voted to contest the election results in Arizona, Pennsylvania, or both. A vote to overturn the results of the Arizona election failed 121-303, and a vote to overturn the results in Pennsylvania failed 138-282.

Here’s how each presidential candidate votes on objections:

House Majority Whip Tom Emmer (R-Minnesota)

Emmer resisted objections to the election results in both Arizona and Pennsylvania, making him one of two presidential candidates who did not vote to overturn either state’s results.

Buck has voted for Emmer on each of the three ballots cast for the chairmanship this month. The majority whip also secured McCarthy’s support, even though the former chairman voted to challenge the 2020 Arizona and Pennsylvania presidential election results.

Rep. Kevin Hearn (R-Okla.)

Hearn voted against the results of the Arizona and Pennsylvania elections.

He is a staunch supporter of former President Trump and supported the former president’s false claims that the 2020 election was stolen.

House Republican Conference Vice Chairman Mike Johnson (R-La.)

Johnson also voted to contest the election results in both Arizona and Pennsylvania.

He formally announced he was running for speaker in a “Dear Colleague” letter to members on Saturday morning. He serves on the House Judiciary Committee.

Rep. Byron Donalds (R-Fla.)

Donalds is another Republican who voted against the election results in both Arizona and Pennsylvania.

Donalds officially announced his run Friday night by publication of Xthe platform formerly known as Twitter.

He had received votes for the presidency from Republicans who abstained during McCarthy’s 15-seat race in January, and also picked up several during Jordan’s three ballots last week.

Rep. Jack Bergman (R-Mich.)

Bergman voted yes against the results of the Arizona and Pennsylvania elections.

In a surprise move, he announced he would run for the presidency at the weekend, promising in a statement that he would “end the deadlock and win the vote”.

Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.)

Scott is the second of only two candidates who did not contest either the Arizona or Pennsylvania results.

Scott, a seventh-term congressman, shocked many when he gained significant support in his bid against Jordan last week when he lost a secret ballot against Jordan by a 124-81 vote.

Congressman Pete Sessions (R-Texas)

Sessions voted in favor of challenging the 2020 Arizona and Pennsylvania presidential primary.

He was the chairman of the National Republican Congressional Committee from January 2009 to January 2013. He revealed on Friday that he will run for Speaker of the House, signaling that he is ready to step into the leadership of the Republican Party.

Rep. Dan Mizer (R-Pa.)

Moiser split votes on whether to overturn the election results in both states. He voted to uphold a challenge to the election results in his home state of Pennsylvania, but did not challenge the results of the Arizona election.

He is officially running for speaker, according to the list of announced candidates that House Republican Conference Chairwoman Elise Stefanik (RN.Y.) announced Sunday.

Rep. Gary Palmer (R-Ala.)

Palmer, a five-term congressman, is the sixth speaker candidate to challenge the results in both Arizona and Pennsylvania.

He was a surprise name when Stefanik announced the candidates.

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *