Penalties for driving without insurance in Oklahoma

Driving without insurance is illegal in Oklahoma, as it is in most states. This can leave you exposed to fines and other legal consequences, including potential jail time. Aside from the legal ramifications, driving without insurance is never a good idea in Oklahoma, as you could be responsible for thousands of dollars in repairs and medical expenses if you are involved in an accident. It will also make it much harder and more expensive for you to get car insurance later. Bankrate’s insurance editorial team explains what happens if you’re caught driving without insurance in the Sooner State.

Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Oklahoma?

Driving without insurance is illegal in Oklahoma. This is because Oklahoma, like most states, requires drivers to maintain minimum levels of insurance coverage to ensure they are able to cover the costs of damages and injuries caused as a result of an accident.

If you are caught driving without insurance in Oklahoma as a result of an accident or an unrelated traffic violation, you may face fines or other penalties, including license suspension. If an uninsured driver causes an accident, they are required to pay for damages out of pocket in addition to any legal consequences.

Oklahoma minimum insurance required

Like almost all states in the US, drivers in Oklahoma are required to have minimum levels of liability insurance. Liability refers to your financial responsibility to the other driver after an accident that you caused. The minimum requirements for Oklahoma are as follows:

  • $25,000 of individual personal liability coverage to pay for expenses related to a single injury

  • $50,000 in general personal liability coverage to pay the costs of all injuries that occur in a single accident

  • $25,000 property damage liability to pay for damage to another car or immovable property

In addition, Oklahoma insurers are required to offer coverage to uninsured and underinsured motorists, even though it can be denied in writing.

If you have a loaner or leased car, you may also need to carry collision and comprehensive coverage, which will cover damage to your car in an accident (liability only pays for the other driver and the car). You may also want to consider purchasing more than the minimum liability as costs can add up quickly after a serious accident and may exceed your policy limits.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Oklahoma

Approximately 13.4% of Oklahoma drivers are illegally driving without the minimum required auto insurance. Unlicensed drivers can be fined just for not having insurance, but the penalties can extend to fines or even imprisonment. You can be fined up to $250 for driving without insurance in Oklahoma, and although it’s unlikely for your first offense, you can be jailed for up to 30 days in some cases.

Also, your driver’s license can be suspended until you get insurance, meaning you won’t be able to legally drive your vehicle on the road. Your vehicle registration may also be suspended and the vehicle impounded. To cancel both, administrative fees and other costs usually apply.

Getting into an accident without insurance in Oklahoma

Getting into an accident is never a good thing – even if you have car insurance. But accidents involving uninsured drivers can be financially devastating, even if you were not at fault for the accident.

If you were not at fault for the accident, you may be able to recover your costs from the other driver’s insurance policy if they are found to be at fault. But you’ll still be subject to the fees and other penalties that apply to uninsured drivers. You could still see your license suspended and unable to drive, and you could still be sentenced to up to 30 days in jail.

If you are at fault for the accident, you will be legally responsible for all costs associated with the accident, whether it is medical expenses, lost wages, or property damage. When you consider that medical expenses in a serious accident can exceed thousands of dollars, having insurance makes sense from a financial planning perspective. Property damage can also escalate quickly, given that the cost of a new car in the US averages over $40K.

Frequently Asked Questions

    • What if you provide incorrect insurance information?

      If you are caught driving without insurance in Oklahoma, providing false insurance information is not an effective way to avoid penalties or fines. The state’s OCIVS computer database will allow police to immediately identify whether you have an active policy in force. You will then be liable for all charges and up to 30 days in jail, along with suspension of your license and registration. You may also find yourself placed in the high-risk driver category by your prospective insurer, which is likely to result in higher premium costs.

    • How much does auto insurance cost in Oklahoma?

      The average annual cost of auto insurance in Oklahoma is $406 per year for minimum coverage and $1,998 per year for comprehensive coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive coverage. Minimum coverage in Oklahoma is cheaper than the national average of $622 per year, while full coverage is also slightly below the 2014 US average of $622 per year. Your out-of-pocket costs will vary based on a wide range of factors.

    • Which company has the best car insurance in Oklahoma?

      There are a number of nationally recognized auto policy writing companies in Oklahoma. The best company for you is the one that offers the coverage options you need, the preferred level of customer service, and the most reasonable rates that fit your budget. Most insurance experts recommend getting a few quotes and comparing them to determine which one is best for you.

    • What is the cost of a ticket without insurance in Oklahoma?

      The company that gives you the cheapest Oklahoma auto insurance quote may not be the same as the one that gives your neighbor the best quote, or the coverage option may not perfectly suit your needs. Factors ranging from your age and marital status to the type and age of the car you drive affect your quote, which is unique to your situation. The best strategy is to collect several quotes from leading insurers to see which is the most affordable for you.

    • Can you get your license suspended in Oklahoma for not having insurance?

      Yes, your license can be suspended in Oklahoma for driving without insurance. The state can suspend your license for up to a year for driving without insurance and may choose to impound your vehicle. You may have to pay fees to reinstate your license and get your vehicle back.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *